About Kundalini Yoga

mettayoganet, mettayoga, kundalini yoga, yogateacher,
Welcome, Yogi and Yogini!

Here you will learn about the practice of Kundalini Yoga, what it is and what benefits it provides. You will also find kundalini meditations and kriyas that you can try at home at the bottom of the page. I am a firm believer that if you create the right condition, the body can repair itself. Here we will dive into eastern techniques of pranayama, asana, mudras, chakras, bandhas and focus points. I will add more to this page as time goes. I recommend bookmarking it for your convenience. If you want to request additional information on this page, you can do so by writing me a line here.


The word Yoga comes from the Sanskrit root “Yuj” meaning “to join” or to “unite”. As per Yogic scriptures, the practice of Yoga leads to the union of individual consciousness with the Universal consciousness, indicating a perfect balance between mind and body.

Kundalini Yoga is the sacred technology of relating to and expressing the soul’s truest identity.  Kundalini Yoga is called Yoga of Awareness and is a part of the tantric esoteric tradition that comes from Hinduism and Buddhism. Kundalini Shakti is the Divine Cosmic energy that lies unawakened in all of us. 

“When Kundalini is taken to the Sahasrara and when it is united with Lord Siva, perfect Samadhi ensues. The Yogic student drinks the Nectar of Immortality. He has reached the Goal. Mother Kundalini has done her task now. Glory to Mother Kundalini! May Her blessings be upon you all!”   

Kundalini Yoga, Kundalini, Metta Yoga, mettayoga.net, Eternal, Immortality, Mother of the Universe, Divine Consciousness, Meditation, Pranayam, What is Kundalini? What is Kundalini Yoga? Yoga, Yoga teacher,
Kundalini Shakti Prayer.
Yoga Has Many Documented Effects Both on
The Emotional Level and Physical: 
  1. Lower pulse
  2. Better immune system
  3. Improved sleep quality
  4. Improves the neutral mind
  5. Heightened energy levels
  6. Better wellbeing and mood
  7. Reduces anxiety and depression
  8. Promotes emotional and bodily awareness
  9. Weightloss, flexibility, stamina
  10. Improves the quality of life
  11. It improves strength
  12. Enhances the lymphatic flow
  13. Aid in deep relaxation
  14. Relaxes your mind and body

Preparing with Kundalini Yoga

In order for the Kundalini (Universal Energy=SHAKTI) to flow freely up our shushmana, the central channel (spine), impurities, and blockages in our physical body, subtle bodies and chakras must be cleansed and removed. This is an on-going process and not a one-time event. As the Kundalini rises, it moves through all the chakras, gradually opening each one to higher vibrational levels. Over time, lower, undeveloped forms of energy are cleared, cleansed and transformed into their higher expressions.

“When our Kundalini awakens, the shusmana or central channel carries the light of consciousness to our entire being. Our nervous system must be strong for our body to be able to integrate and hold this quantum leap in energy voltage.”

The practice of Kundalini Yoga 
  • Prepares our physical bodies and strengthens our nervous system, making it possible to contain this quantum shift in energy.

  • Activates our chakras and our glandular system, which creates the strength and the sensitivity to move this energy up the spine.

  • Awakens dormant parts of our brain so that it can receive, integrate, and send the appropriate signals to all parts of our being.

  • Enables us to harness the energy of the mind and the emotions so we can begin to be in control of ourselves.

Using the Internal energy Locks = (Bandhas)

Bandhas are intentional muscle contractions with the aim of redirecting the energy flow within the body, these techniques speed up the rate of Kundalini energy. The three Bandha’s are Jalandhara Bandha, Uddiyana Bandha, and Muladhara Bandha. They are special energy seals or Mudra’s, which help during Pranayama as locks of energy currents. The great seal is holding all these three locks together, which is called Maha Bandha.

bandha, internal locks, chakra, mulabandha, uddiyana bandha, jalandhara bandha, maha bandha, mettayoga.net, kundalini yoga, kundalini awakening, shakti, prana, apana,
Mula Bandha (Root lock)
  • Mula bandha is located near the sex organs and is the application and contraction of the perineum. This lock moves the energy from the base of the spine up to the navel center.

  • Uddiyana Bandha is located at the solar plexus and moves the energy from the navel up to the heart and to the throat chakra through the application of contraction of the abdomen into the rib cage.
  • Jalandhar Bandha is located at the throat level and is applied when you tuck the chin close to the chest.
  • This technique consists in the application of three locks at the same time while holding the breath out in perfect posture and concentration. It is practiced after breathing exercises, Pranayama, and postures. It is said that the body is in its perfect healing state.

Mantra for tuning in and out:

In Kundalini Yoga we use a specific mantra for tuning in before any Kundalini Yoga kriya or meditation to set the tone and invoke blessings to your higher self. It is chanted at least three times at the start of each Kundalini Yoga class.

The Adi Mantra = Ong Namo Guru Dev Namo.

( I bow to the Creative Wisdom, I bow to the Divine Teacher within.)

Adi Mantra, Tuning In, Kundalini Yoga, Metta Yoga, Tiaga Nihal Kaur, kundalini yoga teacher, meditation, kriya, kundalini, kundalini awakening, ong namo guru dev namo, creative wisdom, divine teacher, mettayoga.net
The meaning of the mantra:

ONG means the Creator, the one who created you
NAMO means reverent greetings, salutations
GURU is the giver of light, the one who dispels darkness (Gu=darkness, Ru=destroyer)
DEV means divine or celestial

The Adi Mantra is used for “tuning in” to the divine flow and self-knowledge within each of us and linking us to Yogi Bhajan and the Golden Chain of teachers.

Tuning Out:

Sat Nam = Truth is my identity

sat nam, bij mantra, truth is my identity, mettayoga.net, metta yoga, kundalini, kundalini yoga, kundalini awakening, mantra, chanting, tuning in, meditation, kriya,

This mantra is chanted three times to tune out after each Kundalini Yoga kriya and meditation with long “Sat” and short “Nam” (9:1).

Kundalini Kriyas and Meditations

Each set provided on my website is shared with permission under the Copyleft Agreement and also available on The Library of Teachings.


Kundalini Yoga Kriyas – Go to Library
Kundalini Yoga Meditations – Go to Library